语言

爱莎天河学校非常重视学生语言技能的培养,开设英文和中文课程以及母语教学课程。

中文课程

爱莎天河的中文课程旨在通过语言相关活动来进行学科探索,以建设全面的中国文化课程。我们为来自不同国家和地区的孩子提供平台,充分理解和学习中国文化,涵盖历史、哲学、艺术和思维模式。我们通过动画演示、视频赏析、户外探索和其他方式,鼓励学生了解汉字的过去与现在,欣赏个中魅力,并感受其中源远流长的中国文化。通过一系列丰富而有趣的探究性学习活动,例如中国书法比赛、汉字知识竞赛和古代成都探索活动等,学生能够以亲身实践的方式来学习中文,并学会欣赏中国文化。

 

在幼儿园课程中,EY1-EY3的学生每周需完成三个小时的必修课和额外三个小时的选修课(英文或中文教学,视家长偏好选择)。EY4的学生需完成四个小时的必修课和四个小时的选修课。EY4的学生将由不同教师进行教学,因为他们被按其中文水平划分为不同小组。

 

在小学阶段,中文教学则将重点放在提升阅读与写作水平,课程按主题来进行教授。小学生每周需完成四个小时的必修课和额外四个小时的选修课(英文或中文教学,视家长偏好选择)。学生按中文水平划分为不同级别的课程,即“高级”、“中级”、“初级”和“零基础”。

 

 

英文提高课程

爱莎天河学校的英文提高课程致力于培养成长心态,将所有挑战视为积极改变与发展的机遇。在尼尔森英语课程的基础上,英文提高课程的教师专注于以核心读写技能为主的课堂教学,包括阅读理解、写作、语法、发音、符号和词汇等。教师们同时也会通过定期的小班支持课程来帮助学生完成学科课程。

 

对于所有英文提高课程的学生而言,了解语言、现实与世界之间的联系是十分重要的。由于语言障碍往往会成为其他学习领域的障碍,除了关注英外互译的英文提高课程之外,我们更着重于跨学科教授英语,来提高学生更好地掌握和运用语言的能力。

 

母语课程

爱莎天河提供优质的母语课程项目,帮助学生练习和提高其家庭语言的技能。所有语言都是独一无二的,体现着丰富的文化与传统。因此通过母语班,我们的目标是帮助身处非母语国家的国际学生,弥补学术课程可能弥补的方面,从而通过语言让他们与自身传承的文化建立更加深厚的联系。

所有学生每周需完成五个小时的英文和四个小时的中文课程。其它母语的学生还需完成四个小时相应的母语课程。目前我校提供法语、意大利语、日语、韩语和西班牙语母语课程。母语为中文的学生可选择完成额外四小时的中文或英文课程。

Language

Through both the taught English and Chinese curriculum as well as the Mother Tongue programme, ISA Tianhe recognises the value in developing students’ language skills.

Chinese

The ISA Tianhe Chinese curriculum aims to explore the subject through activities surrounding the language to build a comprehensive Chinese culture course. Covering history, philosophy, art and thinking modes, we provide a platform for children from different countries and regions to fully understand and learn Chinese language and culture. Through animation demonstrations, video interpretation, outdoor exploration and other methods, students are encouraged to understand the past and the present of Chinese characters, appreciate the charm of them, and feel the profound Chinese culture embedded in them. With instruction delivered through a range of rich and interesting inquiry-based learning activities, such as Chinese Calligraphy Competitions, Knowledge Competitions on Chinese Characters and Ancient Chengdu Explorations, students are provided a hands-on approach to learning Chinese, and learn to appreciate the Chinese culture.

 

 

In the Early Year programme, EY1-EY3 students have three hours of required class and an extra three hours of optional class (in either English or Chinese, depending on parent preference) each week. EY4 students have 4 hours of required class and 4 hours of optional class. EY4 students will be taught by different teachers as they are divided into groups according to their proficiency in Chinese.

 

In Primary, Chinese focuses on promoting reading in combination with writing, and lessons are taught by theme. Primary students have four hours of required class and an extra four hours of optional class (in either English or Chinese, depending on parent preference) each week. Students are divided into different levels of classes according to their proficiency in Chinese; namely ‘advanced’, ‘intermediate’, ‘proficient’, or ‘beginner’.

EAL

The ISA Tianhe English as an Additional Language department strives to nourish its growth mindset by viewing all challenges as opportunities for positive change and development. Based on the Nelson English school programme, EAL teachers focus on supporting English language learning with classroom based instruction primarily focused on core literacy skills such as comprehension, writing, grammar, punctuation, spelling and vocabulary. EAL teachers also assist students in their homeroom classes with regular ‘push ins’ through small group support classes.

 

For all EAL students, an understanding of the connections between language, reality and the world are emphasised. As language barriers can often become a barrier to learning in other areas, rather than the EAL program focusing on learning foreign to English translations, we strive to teach English in the context of a variety of disciplines, to enhance students’ ability to have greater command and use of the language.

 

Mother Tongue

The school provides a strong Mother Tongue language programme to help students practice and develop their skills within their home language. Every language is unique, and reflects rich culture and traditions, so through the Mother Tongue programme, we aim to cover the aspects of the academic curriculum that children may miss as an international student in a foreign country. This allows then to have a deeper connection with their heritage through language.

All students have five hours of English and four hours of Chinese lessons per week. Students with a different Mother Tongue will also have four hours of language tuition, currently offered in French, Italian, Korean, Japanese, and Spanish. Students with a Chinese heritage can choose to do an extra four hours of Chinese or English lessons.