社区服务

 

社区服务课程旨在帮助学生对所在社区(全球和当地)产生社区参与感和社区意识,培养他们成为世界公民。

 

社区意识

成为社区的一部分意义重大。爱莎天河学校鼓励学生成为有责任感的世界公民,寻求提升对周边世界的理解力。爱莎鼓励学生将在学校所学的知识与如何运用自身能力促进社区发展这两者联系起来,鼓励他们问自己:“我能改变些什么呢?”爱莎重视学生在课堂内外的行动表现。

参与和服务

学生的社区需求意识及个人特长和兴趣意识逐渐加强,带动他们参与到社区服务活动中。学校推动学生以个人或集体的形式参与到服务活动中来。这些活动包括:

  • 帮助其他学生
  • 管理学校运动队
  • 推动学生委员会和组织的发展
  • 支持和发展学校与国际组织的联系
  • 组织活动,并募集资金捐助“心的希望”基金会
  • 募集资金捐助受自然灾害影响的受难者和社区

自我反思

自我反思是社区服务不可或缺的一部分。我校鼓励学生对任何需求和所需服务的质量有更强的意识,帮助学生培养积极的态度,意识到自身特长与不足。学生们会在日志上写下自己的所思所感,描述参与的社区服务活动,反思个人行为带来的影响,关注个人态度的任何变化。

我们的活动

2017年12月,爱莎公益基金(ICF)由广州爱莎国际学校(现为广州天河爱莎外籍人员子女学校)发起。该基金主要提供教育支持、老人救助、青少年及儿童保护、中华文化推广和突发应急事件救助等服务。它为广州天河爱莎外籍人员子女学校和更广泛的爱莎社区提供了一个平台,让他们充分参与到世界的发展中来。

通过社区服务课程,学生将进一步扩阔眼界,以及学会如何参与及改善社区、分担责任、表达共鸣、同情及尊重。此外,他们还将探索并学习独立思考,展示领导才能和协作能力。自爱莎公益基金成立以来,广州天河爱莎外籍人员子女学校每年都会通过国际儿童节庆典、运动会和冬季庆典举办各项慈善义卖。我校在过去所开展的活动包括义卖筹款、音乐表演和湿地倡议活动等。这些活动帮助学生深刻认识到,他们的行动和奉献能对更大的社区产生积极的影响。

 

在我校一年一度的冬季庆典上,广州天河爱莎外籍人员子女学校的全体成员聚集在一起,动员学生、教师、家长和社区的力量,共同组织慈善活动,包括在庆典当天举行的义卖筹款活动。学生们积极参与到慈善活动中来,制作了一些精美而有创意的手工艺品供人们购买,所筹集到的钱全部捐给爱莎公益基金(ICF),从而推动我校能够继续帮助那些有需要的人。他们对爱莎公益基金当下所做的工作及其帮助到的人十分了解,并与前来展位的人们分享这些信息。从这个项目中学到的经验可以很好地应用到其他的课题上,比如全球化和贫困问题,这些课题都是在他们的个人和社会课程中学习过的知识,这对我校的学生来说是一次很棒且富有成效的学习经历。

 

除了每年举办的慈善义卖活动,爱莎天河学校还定期组织由热爱慈善事业的学生组成的表演团体,在老师的指导下举办各类活动。爱莎公益基金在广州图书馆附近的广州大剧院举办了一次慈善音乐会,旨在为Small House Charity募捐。三、四、五年级的学生也参加了这次活动,并在本次慈善音乐会上大放异彩。

 

爱莎公益基金还对老年人的生活条件表示关切。通过组织前往广州老人院,学生了解了老人院的设施、日常运作及老年人参与的活动。我校学生和老人一起手工制作鲜花,并赠送礼物。通过这次参观,学生参与到他们的社区中,并认识到帮助他人所带来的积极影响。

 

作为二年级探究单元课题的一部分,老师们发起了“保护灭绝和濒危动物”项目,让孩子们研究中国和世界各地的濒危动物。本项目要求学生进行相互协作,并探究可对该问题进行改善的相关措施。他们联系了世界野生动物基金会(WWF),并想出了领养猩猩的想法。在国际儿童节庆典那天,孩子们展示并出售了他们在课堂上制作的包、杯子和绘画作品,以及在父母的指导下烘焙的纸杯蛋糕。这些二年级学生总共筹集了4650元人民币,实际领养了13只猩猩。这次难得的机会让学生们认识到他们也可以通过自己的努力来对世界产生一定的影响。

 

在世界湿地日当天,广州海珠国家湿地公园组织了一次以广州天河爱莎外籍人员子女学校的Pablo Navarro、Kamila Mejia和Kephas Pope为公益大使的活动,并且他们代表学生们宣读了“加强湿地保护,建设美丽中国”的倡议。尽管他们来自不同的国家,但他们透过自己的声音呼吁所有生活在世界上的人采取行动来保护湿地资源和我们的地球。在整个活动中,学生们表现出的认真负责的态度和出色的宣传技巧赢得了全场观众的一致好评。

Community Service

 

The aim of the community service programme is to help students become involved and aware of the community they live in (both global and local) on their path to becoming world citizens.

 

Awareness

Being part of a community is important. At ISA Tianhe we encourage students to become responsible world citizens who seek to develop their understanding of the world around them. Students are encouraged to make connections between what they study at school and how they can use their own skills to contribute to the community by asking “How can I make a difference?”. The focus is on action both inside and outside the classroom.

Involvement and Service

Increased awareness of community needs and of students’ personal strengths and interests will motivate them to get involved in community service activities. The school develops student engagement in service activities, both individually and in groups. Examples of these activities include:

  • Assisting other students

  • Managing school sports teams

  • Contributing to student committees and organisations

  • Supporting and developing links between the school and international organisations

  • Organising activities and fundraising to support “Hopeful Hearts”

  • Fundraising to support victims and communities of natural disasters

Reflection

Reflection is an essential part of community service. It encourages greater awareness of any needs as well as the quality of the response required. It helps students develop positive attitudes and to become aware of personal strengths and difficulties. Students write their thoughts and feelings in a journal to describe their community service activities, reflect on the impact of their actions, and notice any changes in their attitudes.

Our Work

In December 2017, the ISA Charity Fund (ICF) was initiated by Guangzhou ISA International School (now ISA Tianhe). The fund mainly provides educational support, assistance for the elderly, protection of young people and children, promotion of Chinese culture, and emergency response. It offers a platform for the ISA Tianhe and wider ISA community to fully engage with the world around them.

From the community service programme, students will further broaden their outlooks and learn skills to engage in and better their communities, share responsibility, show empathy, compassion, and respect. Additionally, they inquire and learn to think independently, demonstrating leadership and collaboration. Since the foundation of the ICF, ISA Tianhe has held charity fairs in conjunction with International Children’s Day, Sports Day and the Winter Festival every year. Some of our past activities have included a charity sale, music performances, and the Wetland Initiative Activity. These activities have strengthened students’ understandings of how their actions and dedication can positively impact the greater community.

 

At our yearly Winter Festival, all ISA Tianhe members gathered to mobilise the strengths of students, teachers, parents, and the community to jointly organise charity events, including a charity sale on the day of the celebration. Students are actively involved in the charity, crafting some wonderful and creative handicrafts for people to buy, with all money raised going to the ISA Charity Fund (ICF), enabling us to continue supporting those in need. They learn about the work done by the ICF and the people that it helps, and share this knowledge with people that come to the stall. The lessons learned with this project carry over well to other topics like Globalisation and Poverty that are studied in their Individuals and Societies class, making a wonderful and successful learning experience for our students.

 

In addition to the charity bazaar held every year, ISA Tianhe regularly organises a performance team of students who have a passion for charity to hold various types of events under the guidance of teachers. ICF holds a charity concert in the theatre at Guangzhou Library, raising money for Small House Charity. Year 3, 4, and 5 students also participate in the event and put on a fabulous charity concert.

 

The ICF is also concerned about the living conditions of elderly people. Through organising a visit to the Guangzhou Elderly Home, students learned about the facilities, daily operations, and the activities elderly people engage in. Our students created handmade flowers with the elderly and sent gifts. Through this visit, students engaged within their community, and recognised the positive impacts of helping others.

 

As part of the Year 2 Unit of Inquiry topic, teachers initiated the “Conservation of Extinct and Endangered Animals” project, where children researched endangered animals both in China and worldwide. Students were required to collaborate and research into actions that can be taken to make a difference. They discovered the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) and had the idea to adopt an orangutan. On International Children’s Day, the children displayed and sold bags, mugs and paintings made in class, as well as cupcakes they had baked with the support of their parents. In total, RMB4,650 was raised by the Year 2 students, proving enough to virtually adopt 13 orangutans. This opportunity allowed students to realise how they can make a difference in the world.

 

On the World Wetlands Day, Guangzhou Haizhu National Wetland Park organised a campaign in which Pablo Navarro, Kamila Mejia and Kephas Pope from ISA Tianhe acted as ambassadors for public welfare and read the proposal on “Strengthening the Wetland Protection and Constructing Beautiful China” on behalf of the students. Though they come from different countries, they used their voice to call on all people living in the world to take action to protect wetland resources and our earth. The serious and responsible attitude as well as the wonderful advocacy skills demonstrated by our students throughout the event won praise from all audiences.